About

Who are we?

Demy Schandeler s. à r. l. was founded in 1949 by Dominique Schandeler, the grandfather of today's partners Joël, Gaston and Laurent Schandeler, who are at the helm of the company. We are a family business with strong values, linked to our Luxembourg identity. Our company was built up locally over the decades, specializing in passenger transport to become a major national player. Committed to the State and City of Luxembourg, we have for many years provided a major part of the public transport sector (RGTR and AVL) and transport for people with reduced mobility (ADAPTO) in the Grand Duchy.

Demy Schandeler can count on a loyal clientele of local and cross-border residents: individuals, associations, private and public institutions.

Bus (with driver) and minibus (with or without driver) rental and shuttle services are also among our flagship activities. Our fleet of vehicles, comprising buses, coaches and minibuses, is modern and diversified. Over the years, we have built up a loyal and ever-growing customer base.

In addition to our core business in the transport sector, we are also one of Luxembourg's leading travel specialists. We now have six agencies across the country. Always on the lookout for the latest trends, our agencies offer travel by bus, plane, train or boat on all five continents. Our Group department specializes in organizing tailor-made group trips, including tours across Europe and the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.

In the current context of growing societal and environmental responsibilities for our entire sector, Demy Schandeler is actively committed to meeting the challenges facing its business by assessing and anticipating all kinds of risks and new developments in the short, medium and long term. Against this backdrop, we have begun the transformation of our vehicle fleet from all-diesel to electromobility.

Management Board

Portrait of Gast Schandeler

Gast Schandeler

Portrait of Laurent Schandeler

Laurent Schandeler

Portrait of Joël Schandeler

Joël Schandeler

Company history

It all began with bus lines set up to take workers to their place of work or pupils to school, thus meeting the need for public transport in Luxembourg. In the 1960s, the first organized trips abroad saw the light of day, taking tourists to the sea, the mountains or major cities. Gradually, the company grew around a core of travel pioneers.

In 1949, Dominique Schandeler, nicknamed “Demy”, took over the transport business on January 1, 1949 from his boss Camille Misch. Demy, who had over 30 years' experience in the business, was a worthy successor to run a solid transport company. At the time, Demy Cars owned two buses and served the villages of Keispelt, Meispelt, Nospelt, Capellen and Mamer, before concluding a contract with the Ministry of Transport to include the capital as well.

In the 1950s, associations and individuals began to travel, which soon gave rise to tourism. Demy Cars was thriving, and it was possible to invest in new vehicles. The number of buses in the Demy Cars fleet at the time rose to a total of 8. To ensure a suitable location for the new purchases, a new, larger garage was built close to the current facilities. Part of these old buildings is still used as a workshop today.

In 1965, after the unexpected death of founder Demy, the three brothers Aloyse, Norbert and Josy Schandeler took over the reins of the company together with their mother Catherine Schandeler. A new company was born: Demy Schandeler & Fils.

In the 70s, the company experienced strong growth. Simple offices were replaced by a two-storey building to offer better service to customers.

In 1977, Demy Cars opened the first travel agency in Luxembourg City, in collaboration with the Frisch company, to offer air, rail and cruise travel as a complement to bus travel.

In 1999, Demy Cars celebrated its 50th anniversary. At that time, the company had over 74 vehicles and 104 employees, three travel agencies, an administrative building (the head office) in Keispelt and a branch in Eischen. However, plans were underway to significantly expand the head office in line with the company's ongoing expansion. In 2008, it was the turn of the third generation to continue the success story. After many years of exceptional collaboration between fathers, uncles, cousins and sons, Joël, Gast and Laurent took over management of the 170 employees, 120 vehicles, head office and travel agencies.

In 2019, Demy Schandeler celebrated its 70th anniversary. It was a big year for the company. Two new travel agencies were opened, in La Cloche d'Or and Steinfort. The company invested heavily and built, among other things, a new administration building and a second garage with an underground parking lot.

Today, Demy Schandeler has a fleet of around 450 buses and minibuses and employs over 700 people.

À propos

Qui sommes-nous ?

Demy Schandeler s. à r. l. fut fondée en 1949 par Dominique Schandeler, le grand-père des associés d’aujourd’hui, à savoir Joël, Gaston et Laurent Schandeler, qui sont à la barre de la société. Nous sommes une entreprise familiale avec des valeurs fortes, liées à notre identité luxembourgeoise. Notre société s’est construite au niveau local au fil des décennies, et s’est spécialisée dans le domaine du transport de personnes pour devenir un acteur majeur au niveau national. Investie auprès de l’Etat et de la Ville de Luxembourg, nous assurons depuis de nombreuses années une partie importante du secteur des transports publics (RGTR et AVL) et des transports pour personnes à mobilité réduite (ADAPTO) au Grand-Duché.

Demy Schandeler peut compter sur une clientèle fidèle résidente et frontalière : particuliers, associations, institutions privées et publiques.

La location de bus (avec chauffeur) et de minibus (avec ou sans chauffeur) et les services de navette comptent aussi parmi nos activités phares. Notre flotte de véhicules, composée de bus, d’autocars et de minibus, est moderne et diversifiée. Elle répond à tous les besoins, et c’est au fil des années que nous avons acquis une clientèle fidèle et de plus en plus nombreuse.

A côté de notre activité principale dans le secteur des transports, nous comptons également parmi les spécialistes dans le domaine du voyage au Luxembourg. Nous comptons aujourd’hui six agences à travers le pays. Toujours à la recherche des dernières tendances, nos agences proposent des voyages en bus, en avion, en train ou en bateau sur les cinq continents. Notre département Groupe est spécialisé dans l'organisation de voyages en groupes faits sur mesure, notamment des tours à travers l’Europe et le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg.

Dans le contexte actuel où les responsabilités sociétales et environnementales vont croissant pour notre secteur entier, Demy Schandeler s’engage activement à relever les défis incombant à son activité en évaluant et en anticipant à court, moyen et long terme toutes sortes de risques ou de nouveaux développements. Dans ce contexte nous avons entamé la transformation de notre parc automobile du tout diesel vers l’électromobilité.

Direction

Portrait de Gast Schandeler

Gast Schandeler

Portrait de Laurent Schandeler

Laurent Schandeler

Portrait de Joël Schandeler

Joël Schandeler

Historique de la société

Tout a commencé avec des liaisons de bus, mises en route pour transporter des ouvriers à leur travail ou des élèves à leur école. Il fallait couvrir les besoins du transport public au Luxembourg. Les années 1960 ont vu l’émergence des premiers voyages organisés à l’étranger pour amener des touristes au bord de la mer, à la montagne ou dans une grande ville. Peu à peu, l’entreprise s’est développée autour d’un noyau de quelques pionniers du voyage.

En 1949 Dominique Schandeler, connu sous le nom de “Demy” a repris l’entreprise de bus de son chef Camille Misch le 1er janvier 1949. Demy qui possédait 30 ans d’expérience professionnelle était un digne successeur à la direction d’une solide entreprise de bus. Demy Cars possédait à l’époque 2 autobus et desservait les villages de Keispelt, Meispelt, Nospelt, Capellen et Mamer, pour ensuite signer un contrat avec le Ministère de Transport afin d’inclure la capitale.

Dans les années 50, les associations et les personnes privées commençaient à voyager, d’où résultait rapidement le terme tourisme. L’entreprise Demy Cars évoluait bien, et il était possible d’investir dans l’acquisition de nouveaux véhicules. Le nombre de bus du parc de véhicules Demy Cars de l’époque augmentait à 8 en tout. Afin de garantir un emplacement approprié pour ces nouvelles acquisitions, un nouveau garage plus grand fût construit non loin des facilités actuelles. En partie ces anciens bâtiments servent encore aujourd’hui d’ateliers.

En 1965, suite au décès inopiné du père fondateur Demy, les trois frères, Aloyse, Norbert et Josy Schandeler reprirent ensemble avec leur mère Catherine Schandeler les activités de l’entreprise. Une nouvelle entreprise était née : Demy Schandeler & Fils.

Dans les années 70 l’entreprise connut une forte croissance. De simples bureaux se transformèrent en immeuble à deux étages afin d’assurer un meilleur service au client.

En 1977 Demy Cars ouvrit, en collaboration avec l’entreprise Frisch, la première agence de voyages à Luxembourg-Ville, afin de pouvoir offrir des voyages en avion et en train ainsi que des croisières en complément aux voyages en autocar.

En 1999, Demy Cars fêta ses 50 ans. A cette époque la société possédait plus de 74 véhicules et comptait 104 collaborateurs, trois agences de voyages, un bâtiment administratif (siège social) à Keispelt et une succursale à Eischen. Cependant, des plans étaient en cours pour considérablement agrandir le siège social, dû à l’expansion constante de l’entreprise. En 2008, c’était au tour de la troisième génération de continuer d’écrire cette histoire à succès. Après de maintes années d’excellentes collaborations entre pères, oncles, cousins et fils, Joël, Gast et Laurent prirent la relève à la direction de 170 collaborateurs, de 120 véhicules, du siège social et des agences de voyages.

En 2019, Demy Schandeler fêta ses 70 ans. C’était une grande année pour l’entreprise. Deux nouvelles agences de voyages ouvrirent leurs portes, à la Cloche d’Or et à Steinfort. L’entreprise investit beaucoup et construisit notamment un nouveau bâtiment administratif, ainsi qu’un deuxième garage avec un parking souterrain.

Aujourd’hui Demy Schandeler possède un parc de véhicules d’environ 200 bus et minibus et comptent plus de 360 salariés.